What is ICD-9-CM Print
Thursday, 09 September 2010 06:08

ICD-9-CM International Classification of Diseases, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM) is a classification used in assigning codes to diagnoses associated with inpatient, outpatient, and physician office utilization in the U.S. The ICD-9-CM is based on the ICD-9 and provides additional morbidity detail and is annually updated on October 1. It was created by the U.S. National Center for Health Statistics as an extension of ICD-9 system so that it can be used to capture more morbidity data and a section of procedure codes was added.

It consists of three volumes: ·

  • Volumes 1 and 2 contain diagnosis codes. (Volume 1 is a tabular listing, and volume 2 is an index.) Extended for ICD-9-CM ·
  • Volume 3 contains procedure codes. ICD-9-CM only The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services are the U.S. governmental agencies responsible for overseeing all changes and modifications to the ICD-9-CM.

Tabular List Codes: 001 – 999.

V-codes: For other reasons to visit physicians/faculty are listed under supplementary codes.

E-codes: For external causes of injury and poisoning.