Portal for EHR Incentive Program goes live PDF Print E-mail
Written by Molly Merrill, Associate Editor, HealthcareIT News   
Tuesday, 04 January 2011 16:13

BALTIMORE – The Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Program Registration and Attestation System portal went live on Monday, representing a major step in the health information technology landscape.

The portal allows eligible hospitals and eligible professionals to register and participate in meeting Stage 1 meaningful use criteria.

Although registration for the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program begins today not all states are ready to participate.

Registration is open today in the following states:

  • Alaska
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Oklahoma
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas

Registration will be open to the following states in February 2011:

  • California
  • Missouri
  • North Dakota

Other states likely will launch their Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs during the spring and summer of 2011.

On the CMS website participants are being urged to register, even if their EHR has not yet been certified, and even if do not have an enrollment record in the Provider Enrollment, Chain and Ownership System (PECOS).

Last Updated on Tuesday, 04 January 2011 16:17
ONC issues final rule for permanent certification program PDF Print E-mail
Written by Molly Merrill, Associate Editor, HealthcareIT News   
Tuesday, 04 January 2011 16:07

WASHINGTON – The Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC) issued a final rule to establish the permanent certification program for health information technology on Monday.

According to the final rule (75 FR 36158), which will be published in the Federal Register on Jan. 7, the National Coordinator will use the permanent certification program to authorize organizations to certify electronic health record technology, such as complete EHRs and/or EHR modules beginning Jan. 1, 2012.

Features of the permanent certification program include

  • Organizations must first be accredited by an ONC-Approved Accreditor (ONC-AA) in order to become Authorized Certification Bodies (ONC-ACBs) to test and/or certify health information technology.
  • ONC-AA status will be granted to only one accreditation body at a time and will be chosen based on a competitive process.
  • Every three years the ONC-AA will be required to renew their status and at this time the ONC will accept new applications.
  • The ONC expects there will be six ONC-ACBs, which will be required to renew their status every three years.
  • ONC-ACBs are required to conduct post-certification surveillance.
  • ONC-ACBs are permitted to perform "gap certification," providing the option for and performing gap certification of previously certified complete EHRs and or modules.
Last Updated on Tuesday, 04 January 2011 16:17
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 5 of 39

ICD-10 Corner

9 benefits of ICD-10

1. Measuring the quality, safety and efficacy of care
2. Designing payment systems and processing claims for reimbursement
3. Conducting research, epidemiological studies, and clinical trials
4. Setting health policy
5. Operational and strategic planning and designing healthcare delivery systems
6. Monitoring resource utilization
7. Improving clinical, financial, and administrative performance
8. Preventing and detecting healthcare fraud and abuse
9. Tracking public concerns and assessing risks of adverse public health events

More details..

About Us

Started by a group of young, enthusiastic physicians in the year 1999, Vision Infonet was incorporated in the State of Illinois in 2001. As a vibrant enterprising organization,  we began our journey towards the world leadership in providing the IT enabled back-office services to medical facilities.....more

Our Newsletter

Copyright © 2018. Designed by

S5 Box

Login / Register